Award Winners & Lectures

The Kate Stoneman Awards are given to individuals in the legal profession who have demonstrated a commitment to seeking change and expanding opportunities for women.

The Hon. Judith S. Kaye, then Chief Judge of the State of New York, was the inaugural Kate Stoneman keynote honoree at Albany Law School's first Kate Stoneman Day in 1994. Chief Judge Kaye's lecture is featured in Chapter 2 of the American Bar Association book Pioneering Women Lawyers: From Kate Stoneman to the Present

The following women and men have been recognized by Albany Law School for their outstanding contributions to ensuring equity and fairness in the legal profession for women of all races, ages and religions. All of the people recognized have been role models and mentors for women attorneys and aspiring attorneys, and have served as an inspiration to others.


Keynote Honoree: Hon. Teneka E. Frost ’02
Hon. Patricia Marks ’74
Alejandra N. Paulino ’02

Video: 2023 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Berta E. Hernández-Truyol ’78
Hon. Shirley Troutman ’85
Hon. Marsha D. Michael ’02
Rita Pasarell ’08

Video: 2022 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Nancy Hogshead-Makar, J.D.
Hon. Christine M. Clark ’96
Donna E. Young

Video: 2021 Kate Stoneman Day

2020 Kate Stoneman Day was postponed due to COVID-19 Pandemic. 


Keynote Honoree: Barbara Underwood
Patricia E. Salkin ’88
Kelley Ross Brown ’91

Video: 2019 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Martha Albertson Fineman
Cristine Cioffi ’78
Hon. Joanne M. Winslow ’86

Video: 2018 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Hon. Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States

Experience Justice Sotomayor's Visit to Albany Law School


Keynote Honoree: State Sen. Democratic Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins
Heidi Schult Gregory ’93
Hon. Margaret T. Walsh
In memory of the Hon. Judith S. Kaye


Keynote Honoree: Navanethem (Navi) Pillay
Hope Lewis
Hon. Sondra Miller
Marjorie Karowe '74
Ruth Miner '20 (posthumously)
Special Recognition: Professor Mary Lynch

Video: 2014 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Patricia Williams
Hilary Charlesworth
Elizabeth Loewy '84
Theresa Higgins Snyder '64
Special Recognition: Lisa Frisch

Video: 2013 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Jennifer J. Raab
Lisa Codispoti '95 (posthumously)
Hon. Elizabeth Garry '90
Hon. Joan Kohout '74

Video: 2012 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Patricia McGowan Wald
Margaret Clemens '84
Maria Melendez '92

Video: 2011 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Annette Gordon-Reed
Barbara Cottrell '84
Dale Skivington '79

Video: 2010 Kate Stoneman Day


Keynote Honoree: Nell Minow
Catherine Cerulli
Anne Reynolds Copps '81


Keynote Honoree: Arlinda F. Locklear
Mae A. D'Agostino
Melissa Mourges '80


Keynote Honoree: Cheryl D. Mills
Hon. Leslie E. Stein '81
Sharon P. Stiller '75


Keynote Honoree: Margaret Montoya
Marina Angel
Betty Lugo '84
Hon. Karen K. Peters
Ann Shalleck


Keynote Honoree: Herma Hill Kay
Qudsia Mirza
Nancy K. Ota
Dianne Otto
Dianne R. Phillips '88
Donna E. Wardlaw '77


Keynote Honoree: Carol E. Dinkins
Hon. Carmen Ciparick
Hon. Yvonne Mokgoro
Lorraine Power Tharp
Winifred R. Widmer '54


Keynote Honoree: Hon. Mary Jo White
Penelope Andrews
Gail Brown Bensen
Georgia Nucci '96
Patricia Youngblood Reyhan


Keynote Honoree: Hon. Mary O. Donohue '83
Martha Davis


Keynote Honoree: Martha W. Barnett
Hon. Victoria A. Graffeo '77
Kathryn Grant Madigan '78
Mary Helen Moses


Kate Stoneman Graduation Centennial
Keynote Honoree: Judy Clarke
Keynote Honoree: Karen J. Mathis
Rachel Kretser
Lillian M. Moy
Margrethe Powers '63
Marjorie Semerad
Sandra M. Stevenson '71
Hon. Beverly C. Tobin '62


Keynote Honoree: Hon. Constance Baker Motley
Gloria Herron Arthur '85
Charlotte S. Buchanan '80



Keynote Honoree: M. Catherine Richardson
Donna J. Morse
Miriam M. Netter '72



Keynote Honoree: Hon. Jeanine F. Pirro '75
Katheryn D. Katz '70



Keynote Honoree: Hon. Judith S. Kaye
Bernard E. Harvith
Helen M. Pratt ’28