Professor Ted De Barbieri named 2023-24 Bellow Scholar

View Archives


Albany Law School Associate Professor Ted De Barbieri, director of the Community Economic Development Clinic within The Justice Center, is one of five 2023-24 Bellow Scholars.

Ted De Barbieri

The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) Section on Clinical Legal Education’s Committee on Lawyering in the Public Interest (aka the Bellow Scholars Program) selects a new cohort of law professors every two years to recognize and support innovative research proposals designed to improve the quality of justice in communities, enhance the delivery of legal services, and promote economic and social justice. 

De Barbieri was selected for his extensive scholarship on place-based capital raising. 

De Barbieri’s essay for the Pittsburgh Tax Review (Community-Based Tax Incentives, 19 Pittsburgh Tax Rev. 1 (2021), explored, “place-based economic development tax incentives” and argues that opportunity zones benefit “opportunists” such as developers and investors rather than the inhabitants of the designated area.

In the Fordham Urban Law Journal (Supporting Small Businesses in Place, 48 Fordham Urban L. J. 1107 (2021), De Barbieri examined two recent laws— the Paycheck Protection Program and the Opportunity Zone tax incentive.

In the George Mason Law Review he focused on “disadvantaged businesses” such as those operated by individuals with criminal records who may not qualify for the Paycheck Protection Program. In “Excluding Disadvantaged Business” De Barbieri concludes that, “scholars have failed to appreciate the regulatory result from laws designed to aid business owners in need of support.” 

The Bellow Scholars program honors Professor Gary Bellow, a pioneering founder of modern clinical legal education. The program supports law professors who employ empirical analysis, connect research to advocacy, and involve substantial collaboration between law and other academic disciplines.

The Scholars will undertake research projects examining a range of legal topics in collaboration with community economic development, social science, legal education, and criminal justice researchers and practitioners.

The other 2023-24 Bellow Scholars include: 

  • Neha Lall (University of Baltimore School of Law): Paid Externships as a Tool to Advance Student Equity and Autonomy
  • Aaron Littman (UCLA School of Law): Sheriffs’ Dual Roles and Incentives as Jailers and Police
  • Maneka Sinha (University of Maryland, Carey School of Law): Reliability and Automated Suspicion
  • Madalyn Wasilczuk (University of South Carolina School of Law): Death Behind Bars in South Carolina

Related: De Barbieri inaugural member of Association of American Law Schools’ Pro Bono Honor Roll

Related: Examining Economic Development in Trio of Scholarship Pieces