Endowed and Distinguished Professorships


Hon. Harold R. Tyler Chair in Law and Technology

Raymond H. Brescia

The Tyler Chair, Albany Law School's first endowed professorship, was funded in 1996 through gifts from Judge Tyler's friends, associates and law clerks, as well as a bequest from Judge Tyler, a former assistant U.S. attorney and professor at Albany Law School. The recipient of the chair works with students to explore and better understand the daunting legal problems presented by modern science and technology.

Kate Stoneman Chair in Law and Democracy

Mary A. Lynch

Katherine "Kate" Stoneman, who in 1898 became the first woman to graduate from Albany Law School, was the first woman admitted to the practice of law in New York state. In celebration of her extraordinary achievements and to ensure that her contributions to society are recognized and continue to instruct and inspire new generations of students in law and democracy, a fund-raising effort was begun in 1997, with the first visiting professor joining the faculty in the fall of 2000. In 2007, the professorship was made permanent, and Professor Katheryn D. Katz '70 was named the first Kate Stoneman Chair in Law and Democracy. Professor Katz retired in 2009. Professor Mary Lynch was named in 2016.

Distinguished Professorships

Justice David Josiah Brewer Distinguished Professorship

Ira Mark Bloom

The Brewer Professorship is named for Justice David Josiah Brewer, associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and member of the Albany Law School Class of 1858.

Jay and Ruth Caplan Distinguished Professorship

David Pratt

The professorship was named in memory of its benefactors, the late Ruth Caplan and her husband, Jay Caplan, distinguished member of the Class of 1946. Mr. and Mrs. Caplan established trusts naming Albany Law School as beneficiary which, upon their deaths, were used to endow the professorship.     

Albert and Angela Farone Distinguished Professorship

Patrick M. Connors

The professorship was named for Angela Farone and her husband Albert Farone, Class of 1925, a member of the Albany Law School Board of Trustees and a recipient of the Trustee Gold Medal. Extremely generous bequests left by Mr. and Mrs. Farone endowed the professorship.

Justice Robert H. Jackson Distinguished Professorship

Vincent M. Bonventre

Robert H. Jackson, Class of 1912, was a U.S. attorney general, associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and chief prosecutor at the Nuremberg Trials.   

James Campbell Matthews Distinguished Professor of Jurisprudence

Anthony Paul Farley

The Matthews Professorship was funded through an anonymous bequest. It is named in honor of James Campbell Matthews, Class of 1870, the first African-American graduate of Albany Law School and the first black judge in New York State. In 1872, his first major lawsuit resulted in a victory which forced the City of Albany to desegregate its public schools.

President William McKinley Distinguished Professorship in Law and Public Policy

Melissa Breger

The professorship is named for the 25th President of the United States, William McKinley, a member of the Albany Law School Class of 1867. It was established to expand and maintain excellence and leadership in Government Law and Public Policy. The recipient of the professorship must have a distinguished record of achievement, including a national reputation for research and publication excellence in the area of law and public policy.

Gov. George E. Pataki Distinguished Professorship in International Commercial Law

Christine Chung

The Governor George E. Pataki Professorship supports the teaching, scholarship and community leadership of faculty members in the forefront of international commercial law and legal practice.  It was funded through a gift from Morris "Marty" Silverman '36, retired New York City businessman and well-known philanthropist, who died in 2006. Announcement of the endowment was made by former secretary of state Henry Kissinger at Albany Law School's 1998 commencement ceremony.

Raymond and Ella Smith Distinguished Professorship

Connie Mayer

Named for Raymond Smith, a respected Albany attorney, and Ella Smith, a community advocate, the professorship was funded through bequests from Mr. and Mrs. Smith that named Albany Law School as beneficiary.