Governor Cuomo Selects 12 Albany Law Grads for Inaugural Excelsior Service Fellowships

View Archives


Twelve of Albany Law School’s most recent graduates will be among the 80 Excelsior Service Fellows recently announced by Governor Andrew M. Cuomo ’82, working full-time for two years alongside senior members of the administration and playing a policy-influencing role in New York state.

The program is designed to attract highly talented graduates of colleges, universities, and graduate, law and professional schools to government service.

Members of the Albany Law School Class of 2013 participating in the Excelsior Service Fellowship Program are:

Jill Archambault, New York State Office of the Governor

Steven DeBraccio, New York State Police

Patrick Domery, New York State Higher Education Services Corporation

Sherri Eckles, New York State Division of Housing and Community Renewal

Aimee Furdyna, New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance (OTDA) - Division of Child Support Enforcement

Sanjeevani ("Sunny") Joshi, New York Power Authority (NYPA)

Maura Kernan, New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Lawrence Magguilli, New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General (OMIG)

Benjamin Pomerance, New York State Division of Veterans' Affairs

Matthew Tulio, New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance (OTDA) - Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH)

Katie Valder, New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance (OTDA) - Office of Legal Affairs (OLA)

Spalding Warner, New York State Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs

"Recruiting new ideas, fresh talent, and energy is a great way to transform state government as we continue to build a new New York," said Governor Cuomo in a press release. "That is exactly what the Excelsior Service Fellows will provide for New York. Starting this September, our first class of Fellows will bring their exemplary backgrounds and new perspectives to a host of policy and operational positions in our state government."

Other school participating include Harvard’s Kennedy School, NYU-Wagner, Sage Colleges, Syracuse University-Maxwell School, Morehouse College, Columbia University-Barnard College, Fordham Law School, NYU Law School, CUNY-Baruch College, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy at University of Albany.