Karen C. McGovern Senior Prize Trials Competition

McGovern Senior Prize Trials

The Karen C. McGovern Senior Prize Trials Competition provides Albany Law School third-year students an opportunity to develop trial practice skills. The competition runs the length of the school year and offers practice in both civil and criminal advocacy. The fall semester problem focuses on a civil issue while the spring semester problem focuses on a criminal issue.

2013-2014 Committee:  
Brynne A. Grady, Chair
Eamon G. Rock, Associate  
Prof. Gerald Rock, Faculty Advisor

Competition Requirements:

Participants try cases prepared by the Senior Prize Trials Chair.

Eligibility: The competition is open to teams comprised of two third-year students who are enrolled in academic study at Albany Law School for both the fall and spring semesters and have a GPA of 2.0 or above (72 team limit). No academic credit will be given for participation in the competition.

Judges: Judges for all preliminary rounds are practicing judges and attorneys from the area. A New York State Judge, United States District Court Judge or Magistrate Judge presides over the final trial. The presiding judge is responsible for selecting which team will advance in the competition. The judge's decision is independent of the jury verdict.

Juries & Bailiffs: The bailiff and jury members are composed of first-year students and occasionally high school students from the area.


The Honorable Mae A. D’Agostino presided over the final round on March 18, 2014.

Congratulations to the 2013–2014 Karen C. McGovern Senior Prize Trials Winners, Edward Ohanian & Aubrey Roman! 

Congratulations also to the finalists, John Coghlan & Jack Phelan!

From left: Competition Chair Brynne Grady, Finalist John Coghlan, Finalist Jack Phelan, Hon. Mae A. D'Agostino, Winner Aubrey Roman, Winner Edward Ohanian, Competition Associate Eamon Rock

Additional 2013-2014 Competition Results:

Best Oral Advocate: Aubrey Roman

Second Best Oral Advocate: Edward Ohanian

Third Best Oral Advocate: Ryan Carty 


Thomas Buchan & Robert Smith
Ryan Carty & Thomas Marino


John Bohrer-Yardley & Di Smith
Alana Brady & Tyler Waterfield

Veronika Grochowalski & Hillary Gunther

Ronnie Lindberg & Christopher Wagner


Gina Angrisano & Mary Ellen Nocero
Evan Baer & Neill Stauble
Nicolaus Brooks-McDonald & Joshua Friedman

Catherine Chan & Kelly Hendricken

Ashley Dougherty & Christopher Scoville

Sean Glendening & Kaivan Mangouri

Kelsey O’Brien & Amanda Ramnaraign

Abigail Sardino & Jamie Vandenburgh


Congratulations to the 2011-2012 Karen C. McGovern Senior Prize Trials Winners, Javid Afzali & Nicholas J. Faso.  After a close trial against the team of Krysten G. Kenny & Marc R. Pallozzi, Afzali & Faso's team prevailed. 

A special congratulations to Nairobi N. Thomas for winning Best Oral Advocate. 

The Honorable Randolph F. Treece presided over the Final Round, which was held on March 7, 2012.