Annual Lectures

The Hugh R. Jones Memorial Lecture

Inaugurated in 2002 in honor of Judge Hugh R. Jones, a former Associate Judge of the New York Court of Appeals, by the Fund for Modern Courts. 

The Edward C. Sobota '79 Memorial Lecture Series

Established in 1988 in memory of Edward C. Sobota '79 by his brother, Henry Sobota '77, the Sobota family and by Weil, Gotshal & Manges.

The Justice Robert H. Jackson Lecture Series

Named for Supreme Court Justice Robert H. Jackson, a 1912 graduate of Albany Law School, the lecture series honors the life and legacy of a man who was vital to the fight for civil rights in the United States and throughout the world.

The Edwin L. Crawford Memorial Lecture 

The Crawford Lecture was established in 1996 to honor the memory of Edwin L. Crawford, former executive director of the New York State Association of Counties. The program promotes dialogue on current issues affecting local governments.

Kate Stoneman Lectures

Named for the first woman to graduate from Albany Law School and the first woman to be admitted to the New York State Bar, the Kate Stoneman Lectures recognize individuals who are committed to actively seeking change and expanding opportunities for women in the legal profession.

The Nancy Sills '76 Memorial Lecture

Established in 2003 by her husband, Dr. Stephen Sills. Nancy Sills was a prominent and respected member of the legal community, especially in the fields of estate planning, estate taxation and probate law. The lecture is held in conjunction with Albany Law School Senior Citizens' Law Day event.

The James Campbell Matthews Distinguished Lecture

Named for Albany Law School’s first African-American alumnus, Class of 1870, and New York state’s first black judge. Two years after graduating, Campbell argued against the City of Albany School Board and won, forcing the city to integrate its public schools. He practiced law in Albany for 44 years, served as judge of the recorder’s court (precursor of city court) and, in 1898, was elected Albany recorder of deeds, serving in that position through two mayoral administrations. The James Campbell Matthews Distinguished Lecture series was established in 2008 through an anonymous bequest.