Cody McGinn to Chair Albany Law School Board of Trustees

7/1/2010 | Facebook|Twitter|Email

Mary Ann Cody McGinn '83

Mary Ann Cody McGinn '83 is the new chair of the Albany Law School Board of Trustees starting July 1, 2010. Cody McGinn is the first woman chair in the law school's 159-year history. She replaces E. Stewart Jones Jr.

Other new officers on the Albany Law School Board of Trustees are Robert Miller '68, Windsor Development Group, Inc., vice chair;
Donna Wardlaw '77, Wardlaw Associates, PC, secretary; and Thomas Mullin '76, Constellation Brands, Inc., treasurer.

An attorney focusing on finance and securities for more than 20 years, Cody McGinn has served on the board of trustees since 1999. She has also served as president of Albany Law School's National Alumni Association Board of Directors and co-chair of the law school's Racing and Wagering Advisory Committee.

"I plan to build on the law school's momentum that my predecessor set in motion," said Cody McGinn. "During my board tenure over the past few years, I have been engaged in student initiatives and feel close to the issues - the assets and the challenges. Albany Law School is a great place to study law, and I look forward to helping to make it even better."

A focus for Cody McGinn will be to replace the current President and Dean Thomas Guernsey, who will step down June 30, 2011. She also plans to support development efforts by personally reaching out to alumni.

She is a member of the New York, Florida and Vermont bar associations; board member of the Teresian House Foundation; former president of Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Capital Region; former board member of To Life!; and former volunteer lawyer and director for the Albany League of Arts. She received the Donald D. DeAngelis Excellence in Alumni Service Award from Albany Law School in 2003.

Cody McGinn received her B.A. from University of Vermont, Burlington, her J.D. from Albany Law School and her M.B.A. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

New trustees named to the board were Frank Fernandez '80; John Halloran Jr. '84, Speiser Krause Nolan & Granito; and Leslie Kelmachter '77, Jacob Fuchsberg Law Firm, term trustees; Keiki-Michael Cabanos '97, Westwood Capital, LLC, alumni trustee; and Jessica Vigars ‘11, student trustee.

Click here for a complete list of Albany Law School's Board of Trustees.