Albany Law Appoints New Board Chair, Five New Members

5/26/2010 | Facebook|Twitter|Email

Albany Law School named Mary Ann Cody McGinn '83 its new chair for the Board of Trustees. Also named were: Frank Fernandez '80, John Halloran Jr. '84 and Leslie Kelmachter '77 as Term Trustees; Keiki-Michael Cabanos '97 as an Alumni Trustee; and Jessica Vigars ‘11 as Student Trustee, all effective July 1, 2010.

Cody McGinn replaces E. Stewart Jones. She is an attorney focusing on finance and securities for more than 20 years, and has served on the Board of Trustees since 1999.

Fernandez '80 served as Executive Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel for The Home Depot, Inc., from 2001-2007, including overseeing a 75-attorney legal department through 48 mergers and acquisitions worth more than $8 billion.

Halloran Jr. '84 is a partner at Speiser Krause Nolan & Granito in New York City, where he specializes in representing governments in civil litigation in federal courts, including the U. S. Supreme Court. He is currently Deputy Counsel for the New York State Commission on Judicial Nomination.

Kelmachter '77 is a partner at the Jacob Fuchsberg Law Firm in New York City, where she practices in all areas of personal injury, medical malpractice and defective products cases. Among her notable victories is a record $12.75-million settlement in the nation's largest urban lead poisoning case.

Cabanos '97 is Executive Vice President and General Counsel for Westwood Capital, LLC, a New York City-based investment bank and fund sponsor, where he oversees legal aspects such as investment transactions and firm operations.

Vigars ‘11 is spending the summer as a legal intern at Young Sommer Ward Ritzenberg Baker & Moore, LLC, in Albany. Before enrolling at Albany Law, she earned her bachelor's degree in education from the State University of New York College at Geneseo.

Click here for a complete list of Albany Law School's Board of Trustees.