Three Professors Receive Faculty Awards

6/18/2009 | Facebook|Twitter|Email

Albany Law School gives three separate awards each year at commencement to recognize outstanding faculty for their contribution in scholarship, service and teaching.

Timothy Lytton, the Albert and Angela Farone Distinguished Professor of Law, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship for his consistent record of producing high quality and timely law review articles and books. Last year, Harvard University Press published his book, Holding Bishops Accountable: How Lawsuits Helped the Catholic Church Confront Clergy Sexual Abuse, which subsequently earned a number of positive reviews. He also recently published an article in the Texas Law Review on using tort litigation to enhance policymaking. 

Ira Bloom, the Justice David Josiah Brewer Distinguished Professor of Law, received the Albany Law School 2009 Award for Excellence in Service for his multifaceted service to the community. He has provided pro bono services for the past 10 years for the New York State Breast Cancer Support and Education Network, as well as for the Capital Region Action against Breast Cancer, and he has handled more than 20 cases for the Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York. Professor Bloom also helped the Community Foundation of the Capital Region plan their recent symposium on Emerging Issues in Planning & Philanthropy.

Professor Deborah Mann '79 received the Albany Law School 2009 Distinguished Educator for Excellence in Teaching, in large part due to the quality and effectiveness of her teaching, as well as her ability to integrate the practical with the theoretical in the classroom. She has more than 20 years of legal experience, including assistant district attorney, Kings County District Attorney's Office; assistant attorney general, New York State Attorney General's Office; senior counsel, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority; director, Governor's Task Force on Rape, Sexual Assault, and Child Sexual Abuse; and deputy director, Governor's Office, New York State Division for Women.