Albany Law Seeks Nominees for Alumni in Government Awards

1/23/2008 | Facebook|Twitter|Email

Date: 01/23/2008

Albany Law School is seeking nominations for the 2008 Distinguished Alumni in Government Awards.

In celebration of the 30 th anniversary of Albany Law School's Government Law Center, the school will recognize 30 alumni in government at a special awards luncheon on Tuesday, June 3, at The State Room. The event will also celebrate the work and impact of the Government Law Center.

The criteria for the 2008 Distinguished Alumni in Government Awards are as follows:

  • Nominee must be an alumna/us of Albany Law School;
  • Nominee must be currently employed in the public sector at any level of government and in any branch of government and;
  • Nominee may be an individual who has had a long career in government and has accomplished a number of significant achievements in his or her field, or nominee may have much shorter time in government but has accomplished something significant and worthy of recognition.

Nominations should include the following:

  • Name of the individual nominated and the position they currently occupy in government;
  • A supporting statement (at least a paragraph) describing why you believe that this person is worthy of recognition. Detailed information and specific accomplishments or achievements will be particularly helpful to the Awards Committee;
  • The name and contact information for one or two other people (in addition to the nominator) who can be contacted to provide additional information about the nominee's public service;
  • Any other supporting material (e.g., brief letters of support, newspaper articles, etc.) that might be helpful to the Awards Committee; and
  • Nominator's name and contact information.  

Previous recipients of the Albany Law School Distinguished Alumni in Government Award include:  Hon. Warren M. Anderson '40, Hon. Anthony V. Cardona '70, Hon. Michael J. Hoblock, Jr. '67, Hon. James P. King '59, Hon. Randolph F. Treece '76, Hon. Leonard A. Weiss '48, William F. Collins '76 and Hon. Victoria A. Graffeo '77.

Nominations must be submitted in writing to:

Christina Sebastian, Director of Alumni Affairs
Albany Law School
80 New Scotland Ave
Albany, NY 12208
Fax: (518) 445-3255

The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 29, 2008.  For more information, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at 518-445-3220 or